Tags

, , , , , ,

With all the news on Edward Snowden, I keep thinking about the band Snowden, and the time I saw them at the Mercury Lounge.
It was just after CMJ, and I had missed their showcase performance with Filter Magazine – which was an amazing showcase – but they were headlining, and I skipped out early with a group of Norwegians. We headed to a house party that ended up being one of the best experiences of my time in New York. But that’s another story.
So I went to the Mercury Lounge to hear Snowden, since I’d heard a lot about them and had missed them. To me, this song Anti Anti sounds a lot like The Killers “Mr. Brightside”. I thought it was a decent show. Fun, upbeat, noisy (which isn’t usually something I like, but it worked in this venue). I was standing near the front of the stage at the end of the show when a writer from a major NY publication came up to the lead singer and said “hey man, I’m from (the paper), and I just wanted to give you a head’s up that I’ll be running in a review in tomorrow’s paper…and it’s not going to be good.”
I have major respect for that writer.

Can you imagine how much better life would be if everyone was that honest? “Hey, I just wanted to give you a head’s up that approximately six months after we start dating I’m going to decide I want an open marriage, and break your heart into several pieces.” or “I know we’ve been out on a few dates and it’s been fun, but I’m out of your league so I’m going to slowly break things off and leave you wondering what you did wrong”.

I won’t get my hopes up on that one. I will, however, go catch up on my Filter Magazines!

