Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’ve never been particularly patriotic, even when coming back to the states after traveling abroad (in some pretty 3rd world areas)….but for the past two years, I’ve been able to be in Boston for the 4th of July.  Sitting with family on the Charles River, listening to the Boston Pops, and watching the incredible firework display, one can’t help but feel pride in this great country.  The song that always makes me feel emotional is America the Beautiful.  I love the imagery it evokes.

To me, though, the feeling that overrides patriotism is a general awe and respect for the amazing world we live in.  Whenever I look into the night sky, especially on a dark night where you can see the Milky Way galaxy, I feel so small, and yet so lucky to be alive — lucky to be a human on the only planet in our solar system able to support life (at least human life).  That’s why I love this song so much.  Because every time I see the beauty of the earth manifest in anything – from a tiny delicate flower, to a towering rocky mountain range – I think to myself that it is a pretty wonderful world we live in.

