Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I just want to go on record and say that I LOVE Brad Mehldau.  The man can do no wrong.  I’ve featured several links to his covers (Moon River, and Someone To Watch Over Me), but I wanted to feature his cover of Wonderwall, because, while it may be the most uptempo of the covers, it truly is a genius rendition of the classic Oasis song.

If you’re listening to this song thinking “wow, that chord progression sounds familiar!”, you are absolutely right.  The chord progression in the verse is: i-III-VII-IV, which is the same progression heard in the songs “Boulevard of Broken Dreams“, by Green Day, “What Goes Around“, by Justin Timberlake, among others.

Of course, my favorite version of this song, with vocals, goes to Ryan Adams, hands down.  I especially love the piano/guitar melody at 3:30 (you can hear it in the original Oasis version at 4:00).  I probably shouldn’t admit this, but I once went to a concert where Ryan Adams was opening for Oasis, and I left after Ryan Adams’ set.

What’s your favorite version of Wonderwall?  Did you first hear the Ryan Adams version on the O.C.???  Come on, admit it 😉

