Tags

, , , , ,

Did you happen to catch this film?  I didn’t know what to expect, but by the end I was weeping, and I was surprised by how great the songwriting was!  Perhaps it’s not fair to make a blanket statement like this, but I really think that country music songwriters are the best in the business.  This song is a great example, and my favorite from Country Strong.

This song uses a similar technique as the Sugarland song “Stay”.  But instead of a universal chorus (a chorus that works perfectly with each verse), the last line of each verse, “Timing is Everything” ties together each verse perfectly.

My favorites verses are:

I remember that day when our eyes first met/ You ran into the the building to get out of the rain cause you were soaking wet/ And as I held the door you wanted to know my name/ Timing is everything

You can call if fate or destiny/ Sometimes it really seems like it’s a mystery/ Cause you can be hurt by love, or healed the same/ Timing is everything

Did you watch Country Strong?  What was your favorite song?

