Tags

, , ,

This song is probably the least cryptic of all Beck songs, and it’s one of my favorites as well.  With sparse instrumentation (guitar, bells, simple drums), Beck conveys a message of brutal honesty and heartbreak.   I love the melody (especially in the verses), but my favorite part about this song is the lyrics.  Having lived down the street from Beck’s band, I can picture the setting where he wrote this – and the some of these lyrics really hit home.  I think the bridge is especially haunting:

There’s a place where you are going/ You ain’t never been before/  No one left to watch your back now/  No one standing at your door/  Is that what you thought love was for/

What Beck songs do you love?  Have you ever broken up with a songwriter and had them write such a harsh song about you?  Spill it!

 

 

