Tags

, , , , ,

This song off the album Pablo Honey was really one of the bands few radio “hits”.  Borrowing from the theory analysis of Guy Capuzzo, “The G–B–C–Cm chord progression is repeated throughout the whole song, just alternating between arpeggiated chords in the verses and last chorus and loud power chords during the first two choruses. In G major, these may be interpreted as I–III♯–IV–iv.  The  ostinato musically portrays “the song’s obsessive lyrics, which depict the ‘self-lacerating rage of an unsuccessful crush’.” For example, the “highest pitches of the ostinato form a prominent chromatic line that ‘creeps’ up, then down, [while] ascend[ing], the lyrics strain towards optimism…descend[ing], the subject sinks back into the throes of self-pity…The guitarist’s fretting hand mirrors this contour”.

This song feels especially applicable today.  With lyrics like “I don’t care if it hurts, I want to have control.  I want a perfect body, I want a perfect soul.  I want you to notice, when I’m not around.  You’re so very special, I wish I was special.  But I’ m a creep, I’m a weirdo.  What the hell am I doing here?  I don’t belong here.

I think everyone at one point or another can relate to this song.  I relate to this song right now.

