Tags

, , , , , ,

This title track is my favorite Aqualung song.  Aqualung (aka Matt Hales) recorded the entire album in his hallway, but you wouldn’t be able to tell that by listening.  The sounds are full and encompassing – warm, and yet eerie.  The opening piano chords sound similar to the bell tones of a cathedral clock when the hour changes (Westminster Quarters).

This song is in 3/4 (three-four) time, but unlike the previous song I wrote about which is also in 3/4 time (Ray LaMontagne’s “I Still Care For You,” with the circular/forward sounding movement),  this song, with it’s singular chords seems to suspend time, rather than move it forward.  If you listen to your music with headphones on, like I do, you can hear what sounds like a vibraphone on the right side (and electronic drums on the left).  The vibes give the song a mystical/magic feeling, which goes perfect with the lyrics of the chorus:  “I’ll put a spell on you/ You’ll fall asleep and I’ll put a spell on you/ And when I wake you I’ll be the first thing you see/ and you’ll realize that you love me…”

While I love the sound of this song, the sentimental nature of the lyrics, and the interesting way Hales is able to sound charming and not creepy, my favorite thing about this song is the verse:  “Sometimes the last thing you want comes in first/ Sometimes the first the you want never comes/ And I know that waiting is all you can do sometimes”

