Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I could fill an entire blog with just Radiohead posts.  While my favorite Radiohead album is OK Computer, this song comes from their brilliant 2007 release, In Rainbows.  I say brilliant, because what other band could post their new album on their website and say “pay what you want“?  That alone makes this album and this band a force to be reckoned with.

I went to one of my favorite Radiohead fan sites, Green Plastic Radiohead, to make sure I was getting all the lyrics right on this song.  What I found was a great article taken from New Musical Express, in December 8, 2007.   Lead Singer, Thom Yorke was asked if songs like “All I Need” are about obsession.   His reply:  “That’s why it’s called ‘In Rainbows.’ That obsession thing, thinking beyond where you are at the time…”.

I love the obsession in this song. The imagery painted by the lyrics is almost disturbing – “I am an animal trapped in your hot car…I am a moth who just wants to share your light…I’m just an insect trying to get out of the night…I only stick with you because there are no others.”  The chorus is t he best, though.  It brings it from mildly creepy to full blown obsession.  “You are all I need, you’re all I need, I’m in the middle of your picture, lying in the reeds.”

I also love the slow build of the music, from synth and guitar, and minimal drums at the beginning to a string orchestra holding long extended notes, crashing cymbals, a pounding  piano, and Thom yelling “It’s all wrong/it’s all right/it’s all wrong” at the end.

