Tags

, , , ,

This is an album that I could listen to over and over and over.  The title track, The Suburbs, is the perfect way to kick it off.  The song begins in a sort of updated shuffle, with perfect instrumentation (sparse for this band) – just the right amount of piano in perfect sync with the drums.  The reverb on the vocals is divine, and I love how as the song builds, the instrumentation builds.  So that by the time you reach the chorus you’ve got it all – strings, piano, a full bass, synth…it’s a perfect mix.

My favorite part of this song is the non-linear melody, and in particular the chorus!  It’s transcendent.   It’s perfect.

I also love the line “can you understand, I want a daughter while I’m still young…I wanna hold her hand, show her some beauty before all this damage is done…but if it’s too much to ask, if it’s too much to ask, then send me a sign.”  That sentiment goes hand in hand with the concept of the suburbs.

