Tags

, , , ,

I grew up listening to Bonnie Raitt.  But not  really listening to Bonnie Raitt…you know what I mean?  When I was a junior in college, I was driving back to school, and I made a stop at some strip mall in the middle of nowhere to purchase a CD.  I was gettin’ sleepy, and thought that a new CD would help, because I wouldn’t be able to let it become background noise like CDs I’m already super familiar with.  Anyhow, I picked up a Bonnie Raitt CD, and when I got to this song, I had to pull over because I was crying so much.  This is becoming a theme.

This song is perfect.  Literally.  Every single word is perfect.  There’s not one word that you could take out – it is so masterfully crafted.  My favorite line:

“I’ll close my eyes, then I won’t see the love you don’t feel when you’re holding me.”

I mean seriously!! Who writes that kind of stuff?!?  It’s just absolutely amazing.

Adele and Bon Iver (Justin Vernon) have also covered this song.  I think Adele’s version is particularly lovely.

