Tags

, ,

I love three things about this song.  What I love very most is the opening line:

“It’s been seven hours and fifteen days since you took your love away…”

I love that the first measure of time is the smaller measurement.  It infers that she’s really feeling the time go by.  So slowly.  I also love how in the midst of the linear chorus (when you hear it the second time), it’s interrupted by the burst of a high note.  It’s kind of like how when you’re sobbing you start high and go lower as you run out of breath.

The other thing I love about this song is the way the vocals have been recorded.  I wasn’t around at the time, but to me it sounds as if they had Ms. O’Connor sing the song twice (without referencing her other vocal track), and then they just panned each track hard left and hard right, to get surround sound without duplicating the vocal track.  Anyone who knows me knows I’m a stickler about pitch, but in this case, I really feel like it works.  It’s such an emotional song.

